Minh Cam Ma (2nd from left next to Pedro Piedrabuena above) won the open tournament held at US Bida in Houston Texas November 17-19. The official players list for the tournament consisted of a total of 40 entrants. What was most exciting about the event was the entry of some of the top International players from Vietnam and Ecuador who traveled to Houston to play. All of the tournament details including players lists, charts, pictures and prize fund can be found in the gallery below.

Charles Brown the Tournament Director established the format as 5 groups of 8 in round robin with 3 from each group advancing to a single elimination final round. The qualifications were played to 25 points while the final knock-out stage was played to 40 points.

After the qualification rounds all the star players and top US talent still remained... only the local players and a few of the out of town US players were eliminated. The final 16th spot in the knock-out round was filled by a lotto. In the first series of knock-out matches there were no surprises - the top players all performed as expected. The final eight players that remained at the quarter-final stage were truly the best players in the event. Only former champion Hugo Patino didn't make it through, losing to one of the great visiting Vietnamese players in a 40-38 squeaker. The quarters included three former US champs: Pedro Piedrabuena, Mazin Shooni and Sonny Cho who were there along with Minh Cam Ma, Dinh Nai Ngo, Nguyen Quoc Nguyen, Ang Vu Duong and Quyet Chien Tran.

The quarters saw Sonny and Mazin fall, while two of the Vietnamese players facing each other were also eliminated. That brought us to the final four: Pedro, Ma, Vu and Chien. Pedro and Ma continued there undefeated ways forcing their epic showdown in the final match. In the end Ma proved better... but only on this day... as there hopefully will be many more to come for all our great combatants.

Our congratulations to Minh Cam Ma for a great undefeated performance capped by his win in the final match against Pedro Piedrabuena 40-29. And much thanks goes out to Tournament Director Charles Brown and organizers Michael Kang of New York's Carom Cafe and Patrick Tran the owner of US Bida. 

View the embedded image gallery online at:


NOTICE: The event is FULL! Wait list ONLY!

Find out at the USBA Amateur B-Classic 3-Cushion Tournament January 8-13, 2018 at the Casino Del Resort in Tucson, Arizona.

The field is limited to 49 players. Don't miss out on a chance to be part of this great event. Maybe you will have the biggest sting!

CLICK HERE TO MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS at the Casino Del Sol Resort. Use money-saving reservations code: USBA.

The current list of players who have signed up follows:

The always anticipated Professor-Q-Ball Rushville Fall Tournament proved again why it is a "don't miss" event. Held October 13-15, the 2017 installment attracted 32 players who assembled to do battle. Emerging victorious was Mazin Shooni (right). Second was George Ashby (center). Third place went to Fred Lamers (left). Please enjoy the picture gallery and charts that follow.

The 6th Annual Bob and Marti Tracy USBA Sponsored B/B+; C/C+ Tour Event was held at the Ashland, OR Elks Lodge September 29-October 1st. Wow ! We attracted 35 players, including 18 B’s and 17 C’s. We put them in 5 Flights of 7 mixed B/B/ The winner of each Flight went to the Finals. The C/C= Player with the best record in each Flight went to the C/C+ Finals. Both finals were Round-Robin Format. All players in the finals were in the money. Pictured above B winner Cesar Cardoza (L) and C Winner Bernie Pettipiece (R).

Our Tournament started in the Medford OR Elks Lodge in 1963, has evolved over the years, and moved to the Ashland Lodge with the closing in Medford. Originally it was an Elks event, with Lodges from all over the Country sending Three-Man Teams to represent their Members. Several times over the years we had over 100 Players enter this event, making it the largest 3 Cushion Tournament in the World at the time. Players from left to right:Harvey Wixman; Bob Horecky; Don Dayan; Tim Poole; Duke Clark; Galen Lee; and Bob Hilton

The 2017 USBA Verhoeven Open Tournament was won by Jae Ho Cho of Korea. Eddie Leppens of Belgium was second. Dani Sanchez of Spain took third and Semih Sayginer of Turkey rounded ou the top four.

The event was held August 7-13 at Carom Cafe in Flushing New York. Charles Brown was once again the Tournament Director. Kozoom Live-Streamed all 11 tables including a special stream for the TV table.

Final results for all qualification rounds (stages 1 & 2) and all the deciding games in the main event (16-man knockout format) can be viewed from the links that follow.